Joanna Connor Announces New Album

Chicago-based blues-rock guitarist and singer-songwriter, Joanna Connor, will be releasing her new album 4801 South Indiana Avenue on February 26.

This will be Joanna Connor‘s 14th album and is the follow up to her 2019 critically acclaimed album, Rise. 4801 South Indiana Avenue was produced by Joe Bonamassa and Josh Smith at Ocean Way Recording Studios in Nashville, Tennessee. It is being released on Joe Bonamassa’s new independent blues record label Keeping The Blues Alive. 
“We recorded the album in Nashville. Joe retweeted one of my videos last May and it went viral on his site. I thanked him in a message, gave him my contact info, and he immediately responded. He opened for me years ago at the House of Blues Backporch Stage in Chicago, where I played weekly for years! Joe was totally aware of me for years. He wanted to make an album for me that he felt I needed to make and had never really made.”
“I remember asking Joe point-blank, ‘Out of all the guitar players in the world why me?’ He said, “Because you have an intensity about your playing that most people don’t have. As a matter of fact, I wish I had some of that in myself where you just let it go, and you don’t even think about it.
The album  is named after the address of blues club, Theresa’s Lounge.
“We chose the album title 4801 South Indiana Avenue because it was the actual street address of the hallowed funky blues sanctuary Theresa’s Lounge. We want the listener to open that door, walk in, and feel to their core some of the magic that a place like that brought night after night. It was an honor to bring this to you, the listener.”
Joanna Connor is part of the deeply woven history of blues in Chicago. She has played guitar with many of the greats, including Buddy Guy, Jimmy Page, and Junior Wells. She started playing at Chicago’s Kingston Mines in the 1980s, and has played there three nights a week ever since. We are looking forward to being able to see her there again once the venue is able to reopen after the pandemic. 
Today, Joanna also shared the music video for the first single, “I Feel So Good,” which you can see right here:
4801 South Indiana Avenue will be out on February 26, and you can pre-order your CD or digital copy here now.
4801 South Indiana Avenue Track Listing
1. Destination (3:31)
2. Come Back Home (4:19)
3. Bad News (6:26)
4. I Feel So Good (3:35)
5. For The Love Of A Man (4:20)
6. Trouble Trouble (3:40)
7. Please Help (4:14)
8. Cut You Loose (4:09)
9. Part Time Love (5:06)
10. It’s My Time (4:39)
Website  Facebook  Twitter
About Kirstine Walton 297 Articles
Kirstine moved from the UK to Chicago in 2011, and has fallen in love with the city and its music scene. She enjoys combining her two biggest passions – music and photography. If there is a band with a guitar playing, chances are she’ll be there…camera in hand. Kirstine went to her first live concert at 7 years old, and hasn’t looked back since!